Uber Accidents While Visiting From Another State/Country

California is a popular travel destination for people from other states and foreign countries, many of whom rely on Uber for transportation while they’re here. While hailing rideshare is a convenient way for visitors to get around, it comes with a risk of being injured in an Uber accident. If you have been injured in an Uber accident or any other ridesharing accident while visiting California, you have the same legal right to compensation as any state resident.

J&Y Law represents out-of-state Uber accident victims who have been injured in Northern and Southern California. Well-versed in the insurance laws governing rideshare services and motor vehicle accidents generally, we know that being injured in an Uber accident is an overwhelming experience. When you consult us, we will handle all the details of your case and fight to help you obtain the compensation you deserve.

Who is liable for an Uber Accident in California?

While many states in the U.S. follow a no-fault insurance model, California is an at-fault state for insurance purposes. This means that the driver who caused the accident may be held liable for any resulting injuries. If a visitor to California is an Uber passenger, and another driver caused the accident, it is necessary to look to that driver’s insurer for compensation.

All drivers in the state must carry the minimum liability insurance coverage:

  • $15,000 bodily injury coverage per person injured in an accident
  • $30,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident

In the event that your damages exceed these limits, it may also be possible to file a claim with Uber’s insurer because the company covers its drivers with $1 million of uninsured/underinsured bodily injury coverage.

If, on the other hand, the Uber driver caused the accident, Uber carries $1 million in automobile insurance, which is intended to be the primary coverage for damages. While this seems straightforward, obtaining compensation can be complicated for out-of-state Uber accident victims.

Uber has a track record of denying liability for the actions of its drivers who are considered to be independent contractors. Similarly, Uber’s insurer, James River Insurance, often attempts to quickly settle claims for as little as possible. If Uber or its insurer refuses to resolve your claim
fairly, we will take them to court.

Finally, comparative negligence law applies to automobile accidents in which both drivers contributed to the accident. This means that Uber, the Uber driver, and the other driver may be held liable. Given these complexities, the best way for a foreign national or visitor from another state to obtain compensation in a California Uber accident is to consult an experienced personal injury attorney.

Why Call The Los Angeles Ride Sharing Attorney At J&Y Law?

If you have been injured in an Uber accident while visiting California, you will likely have concerns about obtaining proper medical care, getting back home, and recovering from your injuries. You may also be left with unpleasant memories of your visit to our state. We will help right this wrong by providing you with knowledge, compassion and aggressive legal representation.

In an Uber accident claim in California, you may be awarded compensation, which includes economic and non-economic damages. Economic damages will cover your lost wages, the cost of medical expenses and other losses, while non-economic damages are intended to compensate you for pain and suffering and other intangible harm.

We are highly regarded for being responsive to our clients’ needs — we promptly return phone calls and emails and will keep you fully informed about the status of your case. You should know that it may be necessary for you to return to the state for a deposition and a medical exam by the opposing side. Our legal team will make all the necessary arrangements for your return and guide you through the process.

If you live outside of California and have been injured in an Uber accident while visiting, you must act quickly because a personal injury claim must be filed within 2 years of the date of the accident. The sooner you call us, the sooner we can start preparing your case. When you work with J&Y Law, you will not pay any attorneys’ fees until we win your case. Above all, you can trust us to provide you with powerful representation and superior personal service. Please reach out by contacting our office today.


Request a free consultation